Demeter

Biodynamic cultivation

Naturata and Demeter

Naturata's range has always contained a high proportion of Demeter products and is continuously being extended. The company has stood for biodynamic food from the start and continues to rigorously pursue this policy. The reasons for this lie in the past: both companies trace their origins back to the teachings of Rudolf Steiner, and it therefore comes as no surprise that the beliefs and values held by Naturata correspond to the views underlying biodynamic farming practices. Demeter products guarantee the highest quality; as a premium supplier, Naturata also considers top quality to be all-important. Their shared values and highly developed pioneering spirit led Demeter and Naturata to help found the wholefood movement. 

Demeter products

Certified quality: Our Demeter products

Almost half of our product range is Demeter-certified and therefore stands for carefully inspected biodynamic cultivation and processing methods.

But what is behind the concept of biodynamic farming?

Demeter is the hallmark of biodynamic farming practices. But what exactly does that mean? And how is it distinguished from EC eco-regulations?

Founded over eighty years ago, Demeter is the oldest ecological agricultural association in the world, uniting over 3,200 farms and around 100,000 hectares of land. The international organic Demeter brand  is represented on all continents. From Argentina to the United States, farmers in 38 countries operate according to Demeter guidelines.

The name comes from the Greek goddess Demeter who presided over the fertility of the earth, cereals, seeds and the seasons. 

cultivation and processing

The fundamental principle of Demeter and the EC eco-regulations is to do without synthetic chemical fertilizers and pesticides. Demeter farms, however, go one step further: special compost and spray preparations are introduced into the soil to improve quality. These consist of healing plants, cow manure and quartz powder which is processed accordingly on the Demeter farms and applied in small quantities to the fields. Here, the composition is more important than the quantity. Demeter farmers wish to not only maintain the quality of the soil, as stipulated in EC eco-regulations; they go one step further and actually improve soil quality, making for an altogether healthy environment for cultivation. True to the guiding principle of putting more back into the soil than is taken out.

The advantages of this method are obvious: soil life is revitalised, fertility increased and root growth stimulated. This positive effect on sustainable soil management has also been confirmed by research studies conducted over many years.

Alongside important criteria for tillage, the Demeter guidelines also set out clear requirements regarding cultivated grain. Only open-pollinated varieties, that is, varieties which develop their own seeds in regular cycles, may be used. Cross-breeds of two related seeds, so-called hybrids, or varieties obtained by means of cell fusion are not used.

After harvesting, further processing must also comply with Demeter quality standards. Consequently, only a small number of absolutely essential auxiliary agents are permitted. The use of iodine, nitrate salting mix and so-called natural aromas (aromas which occur naturally, but which can also be manufactured with the aid of bacteria, yeast or mushrooms) is prohibited. Only aroma extracts may be used (from essential oils or extracts from vegetable sources which constitute the main component of the aroma).

A further difference lies in the extent of agricultural practice. EC eco-regulations allow farmers to operate both organic and conventional cultivation methods at the same location; Demeter farms are based on 100 % biodynamic agriculture.

Animal husbandry on Demeter farms

It is essential that Demeter farms practice animal husbandry. The extent depends on the size of the acreage farmed. The cattle produce vital manure which, following extensive processing into biodynamic fertilizer, boosts the quantity of fodder and produces high-quality foodstuffs. Demeter farms produce at least half of the fodder they require for their animals themselves. Only fodder produced on the farm or purchased from other Demeter farms is permitted. It must be free of meat and bone meal, auxiliary agents, antibiotics and hormones.

Demeter farmers refrain from the painful dehorning of cattle as is standard in conventional cattle rearing. This is because cows with horns produce particularly good manure for use as fertilizer and give wholesome milk. Demeter milk from cows with horns can even be enjoyed by people who otherwise suffer an allergic reaction to conventional milk.

Regular inspections and international guidelines

In accordance with the EC eco-regulations governing organic farming, all Demeter farms are inspected once a year by state-certified, independent inspection authorities. Demeter is the only farming association to have internationally valid guidelines, so that Demeter quality requirements are also met by imported goods.

Advantages of using Demeter products in your diet

Several studies have demonstrated that a strict diet of Demeter products has a positive effect on physical well-being. Possible health problems are alleviated and the body's defences are stimulated. By practising sustainable cultivation, Demeter farmers guarantee a supply of food which has character and whose typical flavours contribute to a healthy and enjoyable eating experience. And this goes hand-in-hand with a clear conscience with regard to nature.

Demeter

Biologisch-Dynamischer Anbau

Naturata und Demeter

Der Anteil an demeter-Produkten im Naturata-Sortiment ist schon immer umfangreich und wird stetig ausgebaut. Das Unternehmen steht seit Anfang an für bio-dynamische Lebensmittel und setzt dies weiter konsequent um. Die Gründe hierfür liegen in der Vergangenheit: Beide Unternehmen haben Ihren Ursprung in den Lehren Rudolf Steiners und so verwundert es nicht, dass sich Überzeugung und Werte von Naturata mit den Sichtweisen der bio-dynamischen Wirtschaftsweise decken. Demeter-Produkte garantieren höchste Qualität und als Premium-Anbieter legt Naturata ebenfalls Wert auf beste Qualität. Durch die gemeinschaftlichen Werte und den ausgeprägten Pioniergeist haben Demeter und Naturata die Naturkost-Bewegung mitbegründet.

äää üüü ööö 

Demeter-Produkte

Ausgezeichnet: Unsere Demeter-Produkte

Nahezu die Hälfte unseres Sortiments ist Demeter-zertifiziert und steht somit für einen sorgfältig geprüften biologisch-dynamischen Anbau- und Verarbeitungsprozess.

Aber was verbirgt sich denn nun hinter der bio-dynamischen Landwirtschaft?

Demeter ist das Markenzeichen für bio-dynamisches Wirtschaften. Aber was genau ist damit gemeint? Und wie unterscheidet es sich zur EG-Öko-Verordnung?

Demeter ist mit mehr als achtzig Jahren der älteste ökologische Landbauverband mit weltweit über 3.200 Betrieben und rund 100.000 Hektar Fläche. Als internationale Bio-Marke ist Demeter auf allen Kontinenten vertreten. Von Argentinien bis Ungarn wird in 38 Ländern nach den Demeter-Richtlinien gewirtschaftet.

Der Name kommt von der griechischen Göttin Demeter, die für die Fruchtbarkeit der Erde, des Getreides, der Saat und der Jahreszeiten zuständig war.

Anbau und Weiterverarbeitung

Oberstes Gebot bei Demeter und auch der EG-Öko-Verordnung ist das Weglassen von chemisch-synthetischen Dünge- und Pflanzenschutzmitteln. Demeter-Betriebe gehen hier aber noch einen Schritt weiter: Zur Qualitätssteigerung des Bodens werden spezielle Kompost- und Spritzpräparate dem Boden zugefügt. Diese bestehen aus Heilpflanzen, Rindermist und Quarzmehl, was in den Demeter-Betrieben entsprechend verarbeitet und auf den Feldern in kleinen Mengen ausgebracht werden. Wichtig ist hier die Zusammensetzung und weniger die Menge. Demeter-Bauern möchten nicht nur die Qualität des Bodens erhalten, wie es die EG-Öko-Verordnung vorschreibt, sondern gehen noch einen Schritt weiter und verbessern die Qualität des Bodens für einen rundum gesunden Anbaubereich. Ganz nach dem Motto: dem Boden mehr zurückgeben, als im entzogen wurde.

Die Vorteile dieser Vorgehensweise liegen klar auf der Hand: Das Bodenleben wird aktiver, die Fruchtbarkeit gesteigert und das Wurzelwachstum angeregt. Diese positive Wirkung auf die nachhaltige Förderung des Bodens wurde mittlerweile auch in langjährigen Forschungsstudien bestätigt.

Neben den wichtigen Kriterien für die Bodenbearbeitung, gibt es bei den Demeter-Richtlinien auch klare Anforderungen in Bezug auf das angebaute Getreide. Es dürfen nur samenfeste Sorten, also Sorten die Ihren Samen eigenständig im regelmäßigen Zyklus ausbilden, verwendet werden. Auf Kreuzungen zweier verwandter Saaten, den sogenannten Hybriden, oder Sorten aus Zellfusionstechnik wird verzichtet.

Nach der Ernte muss auch die Weiterverarbeitung den Demeter-Qualitätsstandards gerecht werden. So sind nur wenige und absolut notwendige Zusatzstoffe erlaubt. Jod, Nitritpökelsalz und so genannte natürliche Aromen (Aromen die in der Natur zwar vorkommen, aber auch mit Hilfe von Bakterien, Hefen oder Pilzen hergestellt werden können) sind verboten. Ausschließlich die Verwendung von Aromaextrakten (aus ätherischen Ölen oder Auszüge aus pflanzlichen Ausgangsmaterialien und dienen als Hauptbestandteil eines Aromas) ist erlaubt.

Ein weiterer Unterschied ist der Umfang des Wirtschaftens. Darf unter EG-Öko-Verordnung neben Bio-Anbau auch noch konventioneller Anbau bei ein und demselben Bauern betrieben werden, setzen Demeter-Höfe zu 100 % auf die bio-dynamische Anbauart.

Tierhaltung auf Demeter-Höfen

Die eigene Tierhaltung auf Demeter-Höfen ist ein Muss. Die Größe der Tierhaltung ist abhängig von der Größe des Anbaugebietes. Die Rinder produzieren den wichtigen Mist, der nach umfangreicher Weiterverarbeitung als biologisch-dynamischer Dünger das Futter gut wachsen und qualitätsvolle Lebensmittel entstehen lässt. Demeter-Höfe erzeugen mindestens die Hälfte der Futterra­tion für ihre Tiere auf dem eigenen Hof. Es ist nur selbst erzeugtes oder von anderen Demeter-Betrieben zugekauftes Futter zulässig, das frei von Tiermehlen, Zusatzstoffen, Antibiotika und Hormonen ist.

Demeter-Landwirte verzichten auf das schmerzhafte Enthornen bei Rindern, wie es in der konventionellen Rinderhaltung üblich ist. Denn Kühe mit Hörnern liefern besonders guten Mist für die Düngung und geben vollwertige Milch. Demeter-Milch von Hörner tragenden Kühen wird selbst von Menschen vertragen, die auf herkömmliche Milch allergisch reagieren.

Regelmäßige Kontrollen und internationale Richtlinien

Alle Demeter-Betriebe werden einmal jährlich gemäß der EG-Verord­nung für den ökologischen Landbau durch staatlich anerkannte, unab­hängige Kontrollstellen überprüft. Demeter hat als einziger Anbauverband international gel­tende Richtlinien, so dass auch für Importware der Demeter-Quali­tätsanspruch erfüllt wird.

Vorteile einer Ernährung mit Produkten in Demeter-Qualität

Mehrere Studien belegen, dass eine konsequente Ernährung mit Demeter-Produkten sich positiv auf das körperliche Befinden auswirkt. Mögliche Beschwerden werden gemildert und die Abwehrkräfte gefördert. Durch diese Vorgehensweise des nachhaltigen Anbaus, garantieren Demeter-Bauern Lebensmittel mit Charakter, deren typischer Geschmack zum intensiven und gesunden Genuß-Erlebnis wird. Und das alles mit einem guten Gewissen unserer Natur gegenüber.